Program Overview

Films by World-Renowned Directors

Many influential directors’ new films are awaiting to meet the audience such as American director Noah Baumbach’s White Noise, French director Alain Guiraudie’s Nobody′s Hero, Claire Denis’ Both Sides of the Blade, François Ozon’s Peter Von Kant, Arnaud Desplechin’s Brother and Sister, Italian director Dario Argento’s Dark Glasses, Gianni Amelio’s Lord of the Ants, Polish director Jerzy Skolimowski’s EO, Iranian director Jafar Panahi’s No Bears, Romanian director Cristian Mungiu’s R.M.N. , Mexican director Alejandro G. Iñárritu’s BARDO, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths, Filipino director Brillante Mendoza’s Feast, Lav Diaz’s When the Waves are Gone, Chilean director Patricio Guzmán’s My Imaginary Country, Spanish director Albert Serra’s Pacifiction, and Danish director Lars Von Trier’s drama series, The Kingdom Exodus.

Head-Turning and Most-Talked-About Films

The Busan International Film Festival will present a profound line-up of films that will draw attention for many reasons. Jiseok, a documentary filmed to commemorate the late program director Kim Jiseok, Nakdong River, the earliest surviving film that first portrayed the Korean War in 1952 while the war was still on, Riceboy Sleeps, directed by Anthony Shim, a Korean Canadian actor and director who is anticipated to continue in the glory of Minari, Everything Everywhere All at Once, which starred Michelle Yeoh and dominated the theaters after being released in the U.S. this year, Retrograde, directed by Matthew Heineman, who is assessed as one of the best documentary directors in America, Prologos, directed by Mantas Kvedaravičius, who was murdered by the Russian army while shooting his film, Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, an animated film based on Murakami Haruki’s novel, The Black Pharaoh, the Savage and the Princess, directed by Michel Ocelot, who is renowned for his fantastic animations, The Super 8 Years, co-directed by the writer Annie Ernaux and her son, Kingdom II: Harukanaru Daichi e, a live-action film that hit the Japanese box office, Even If This Love Disappears Tonight, a well-known title for the best-selling romance novel under the same name, Vikram, one of the highest grossing action films in India, Max, Min and Meowzaki, a touching comedy of Miyazaki Hayao, their family, and a cat, Zwigato, directed by a famous Indian actor and director Nandita Das, and Six Characters, starring the most popular actors in Southeast Asia. Furthermore, a wave of films directed by non-Korean directors starring Korean actors, which are produced in Korea will be screened as well, and prove the far-reaching influence of Korean film industry; for example, Broker, directed by Kore-Eda Hirokazu, a nominee of the competition section at the Cannes Film Festival, Return to Seoul, directed by Cambodian French director Davy Chou, and Ajoomma, directed by a new Singaporean director He Shuming.

Broad Expansion of Korean Cinema

First, the Korean Cinema Today – Special Premiere section has been newly launched. In this section, a handful of attractive and promising unreleased Korean mainstream commercial films will be selected and screened, and the latest contemporary major Korean commercial films will be presented to the public. For the first year running of this section, director Chung Jiyoung’s The Boys and director Bang Woo-ri’s 20th Century Girl were selected.

Second, Korean works have experienced a pronounced expansion in the On Screen section, which was newly established in 2021. This year, seven Korean drama series from all major online platforms are participating in the section. Works from talented directors like Lee Hojae, Roh Deok, and Jeon Woo-sung as well as renowned directors such as Lee Joon-ik, Jung Ji-woo, and Miike Takashi will be introduced.

Third, the Korea Cinema Today – Vision section, which used to screen 10 films but has extended its selections to 12 since 2021, includes a variety of selections of various genres such as adventure, silent film, animation, and coming-of-age films.

International Film Festival Awardees

This year’s most highly anticipated films that have shown paramount achievements at many international film festivals will also participate; such as Cannes Film Festival’s Palme d'Or winner Triangle of Sadness by Ruben Östlund, the Grand Prix winner Close by Lukas Dhont, the Jury Prize winner The Eight Mountains by Felix Van Groeningen and Charlotte Vandermeersch, the Best Screenplay Award winner Boy from Heaven by Tarik Saleh, the Best Actress Award winner Holy Spider by Ali Abbasi, FIPRESCI International Critics' Award winner Leila′s Brothers by Saeed Roustaee, the Jury Prize in Un Certain Regard winner Joyland by Saim Sadiq, the Best Performance Prize winner Corsage by Marie Kreutzer, Caméra d'Or Special Distinction recipient Plan 75 by Hayakawa Chie, the Europa Cinemas Label in the Directors' Fortnight winner One Fine Morning by Mia Hansen-Løve, the SACD Prize winner The Mountain by Thomas Salvador, the Grand Prize at Critics’ Week winner La Jauría by Andrés Ramírez Pulido, the French Touch Prize winner Aftersun by Charlotte Wells, the Berlin International Film Festival’s Golden Bear winner Alcarràs by Carla Simón, Silver Bear winner Everything will be OK by Rithy Panh, Best Supporting Performance winner Before, Now & Then (Nana) by Kamila Andini, the Berlinale Documentary Award winner Myanmar Diaries by The Myanmar Film Collective, the Grand Prix in the Generation 14plus, Scheme by Farkhat Sharipov, Crystal Bear in the Generation 14plus winner Alis by Clare Weiskopf and Nicolas Van Hemelryck, Grand Prix in the Generation Kplus winner The Quiet Girl by Colm Bairéad, The Sundance Film Festival’s World Cinema Dramatic Grand Jury Prize winner UTAMA by Alejandro Loayza Grisi, the Directing Award winner Klondike by Maryna Er Gorbach, the U.S. Dramatic Directing Award winner Palm Trees and Power Lines by Jamie Dack, the U.S. Documentary Jonathan Oppenheim Editing Award winner Fire of Love by Sara Dosa, the Locarno Film Festival’s Golden Leopard prize winner Rule 34 by Julia Murat, Pardo for Best Direction winner I Have Electric Dreams by Valentina Maurel, Special Jury Prize winner The Adventures of Gigi the Law by Alessandro Comodin, FIPRESCI International Critics' Award winner Stone Turtle by Woo Ming Jin, Karlovy Vary International Film Festival’s Best Actress Award winner A Room of My Own by Ioseb “Soso” Bliadze, and Special Jury Prize winner You Have to Come and See It by Jonás Trueba.