영화 정보

Special Screening

  • Remake/Adaptation
  • Love/Romance
  • Psychology/Mystery/Suspence/Thriller
  • Women
  • Country/RegionKorea
  • Production Year1967
  • Running Time79min
  • Format DCP
  • ColorB&W
Program Note
Director Kim Soo-yong’s 1967 film, Mist, eloquently conveys the unspeakable. Adapted directly by Kim Seung-ok himself from his novel, Record of a Journey to Mujin, this film is generally detailed, but at times, abstract and bold. Director Kim’s skillful and polished direction captures the intricate emotions of human desires, materialistic tendencies, self-loathing, and more. As its title, Mist suggests, it reveals hidden complexities without showing them overtly. Actress Yun Jung-hee plays the role of Ha Insook, who encounters Yun Gijun (Shin Seong-il) staying in Mujin. Ha, an embodiment of materialistic desires, is the essence of the fog-covered Mujin itself. The portrayal of Ha, from Yun Gijun’s perspective, is both mysterious and dreamlike, often blurring the lines between the character’s charm and actress Yun’s star persona. Her performance, which resembles the gray mist in a black-and-white movie, became eternal, showing off her transparent presence in opacity like light and shade in an ink-and-wash painting. (SONG Kyung-won)
KIM Soo-yong
Born in 1929 in Anseong, Gyeonggi-do, Kim Soo-yong began his film directing career after completing his military service. His early works, including An Upstart (1961) and The Classroom of Youth (1963), were characterized by slapstick comedy, but his directorial abilities started gaining recognition with Dried Yellow Croaker Fish (1963). Through films like Full Ship (1967), The Earth (1974), Burning Mountain (1977), A Splendid Outing (1977), and Late Autumn (1981), the director accumulated a total of 109 extensive directorial works, culminating in Scent of Love (1999). Especially, films like Mist (1967), A Splendid Outing (1977), and Late Autumn (1981) are evaluated as representative examples of Korean cinematic modernism in the 1960s and 1970s.
KIM Soo-yong
Seong-il SHIN, Jung-hee YUN, Chungchul KIM, Nakhoon LEE
Seokjun JANG
Jaewon YU
Yoonjoo JEONG