CGK Award

The 27th Busan International Film FestivalCGK Award

Korean Cinema Today – Vision & New Currents Section Korean Film Grand Prize Jury

KIM Hyungkoo

Korea Director of Photography

With the encouragement of his father, a connoisseur of fine art, Kim Hyungkoo studied photography as a university student. Beginning in 1988, he worked as a crew member on numerous films, including Chil-su and Man-su (1988) and The Age of Success (1997). He served as the director of photography for Peppermint Candy (1999), One Fine Spring Day (2001), Memories of Murder (2006), The Host (2006), Unbowed (2011), Nobody’s Daughter Haewon (2012), On the beach at night alone (2016), Grass (2017), Hotel by the River (2018), and Please Don't Save Me (2017). He won Best Cinematography at the Daejong Film Awards in 1999, and 2005, the Korea Film Awards in 2003 and 2006, the Blue Dragon Film Award in 2003, and the Golden Cinema Film Festival Awared in 2008. He is currently a professor at the Korea National University of Arts.

JAE Chang-gu

Korea Director of Photography

Beginning with his short film, Adolescence (2002), Jae Chang-gu has produced films every year, including Sund@y Seoul (2004), Silk Shoes (2006), Family Matters (2006), Before the Summer Passes Away (2007), People of Seoul Metropolitan City (2007), Lovers (2008), If You Were Me 5 (2011), Stranger than Jesus (2018), and Stranger than the Beyond (2021). Adolescence (2002) won the Best Director Award at the Busan International Short Film Festival, the Best Film Award at the Mise-en-scène Short Film Festival, and the Best Film Award at the Korea Visual Arts Festival. He is currently a professor at Dongseo University Im Kwon Taek College of Film and Arts.

UM Hyejung

Korea Director of Photography

Um Hyejung worked for several years as a cinematographer on projects such as I Can Fly to You But You… (Kim Youngnam 2001), invited to the 54th Cannes Film Festival; and Fingerprint (Cho Gyuok, 2004) screened at the 9th Busan International Film Festival and the 8th Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival and the 3rd Mise-en-scène Short Film Festival, where she won the award for best cinematography. Later, Um was invited to the 57th Cannes Critics Week with her short film Home Sweet Home (2004). She worked for director Lee Sooyeon's omnibus feature Modern Family (2012) and later won the 18th Women's Film of the Year Technical Award for Bluebird (2017). She is active in various capacities, including recently working as a filming director for director Kim Jinmin's Netflix original series Extracurricular (2020).